May was a strange month. It felt like it was flying by but looking back at the things that made me smile in April, it all feels like it was soo long ago. I finally left my job in retail where I was really unhappy and even though leaving was really scary, I survived and now for the first time in ages, I’m enjoying a work-life balance and I feel so much happier and healthier for it!

Work ★★★★ Play ★ ★★ Health ★★★★


Favourite Photos This Month

What I’ve Been Watching…

Game of Thrones
Glee
The Ted Bundy Tapes (And basically every other crime documentary on Netflix. It became a strange obsession throughout May)

Extremely Wicked, Shockingly Evil and Vile
Clueless
Baywatch (2017)

What I’ve Been Reading…

(Rereading) Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K Rowling

Things That Made Me Smile This Month

★The final season of Game of Thrones
★Getting my new glasses (they’re at the top of this post – they’re from the Kylie range at Specsavers)
★Cutting my hair short again!
★ Starting a new job and everyone being 100% lovely and welcoming
★ Baking
★ Catching up with Family
★ Spending far too many hours playing Civ 5 on Steam
★The release date for Orange is the New Black was announced!
★ I finally treated myself to a fitness tracker (the Huawei Band 3 Pro) and I love it!!

Things I am Grateful For This Month

My new colleagues. I struggle with awful anxiety but they made me feel welcome from the second I walked in the office and I am so grateful.

My new job. I have a routine, more time for myself, time to relax, catch up with family and enjoy my life which is something I never had in my old job.

Weekends!!!! I didn’t get weekends off in my old job and never had 2 days off in a row so now I get to appreciate Saturdays and Sundays!

3 Things I am Looking Forward To Over The Next Month

Hopefully starting to feel like I am getting the hang of my new job (I am still completely lost half the time)

Some sunny days (I’ve got my fingers crossed!!)

Seeing more films – I aim to watch 1 film a week that I haven’t seen before


It is amazing how much can change in a month. Moving to a new job was my number 1 goal for this year. Next up, finding time for yoga again and getting to the cinema more!

I hope you had a wonderful month!

Shannon x

2 thoughts on “Things That Made Me Smile This Month | May 2019

  1. Hello Shannon!
    Great job on walking away from a job that you outgrew and finding a better one. That is a huge change, but definitely worth-it! I really enjoyed your post just reading it brought a smile to my face too! I hope you will have a wonderful June full of lots of sunny days!

    ❤ Alana

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Alana! I’m proud that I decided to make that change. It has been so good for me. I’m so happy my post made you smile! I hope June is a wonderful month for you too 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment